Got {Raw} Milk?

When I started on my organic journey, the first thing I remember reading in my brand new Clean and Lean Diet (2 weeks to your best body) is that the main foods to eat organic are meat, dairy and thin skinned fruits- strawberries, blueberries etc. Imagine my glee when I discovered a gorgeous organic butcher near my house!

Yes, I tend to get a little obsessed with things. A few years ago I wouldn’t shut up about cloth nappies…

Inside this treasure trove they don’t only have meat, but eggs, veggies and to my intense interest- raw milk.

Now raw milk is in every sense of the word- raw. Un-homogenized (where fat globules in milk are broken down and blended) and un-pasturised (not exposed briefly to very high temperatures). It is from her udder, into the carton and into your cup.

Raw milk in Australia is a sick bird, as my father in law would say, illegal (get it, ill eagle?) Mostly due to the fact that cows do not survive on clean healthy grass as nature would intend her to, but on grain grown especially, otherwise known as bio-fuel. Raw milk from a certified organic farm where the cows are fed beautiful green grass is arguably (according to web info) safe, and in some cases, safer than pasturised and ‘altered’ milk.

Recent advances in the analysis of milk-borne diseases have enabled scientists to track the DNA of the infectious bacteria to the cows on the farms that supplied the raw milk[5] . This technique eliminates much of the debate of the merits of safe milk practices.

Now, I don’t know about you but i’m willing to have a go! My Mum remembers with fondness the days when she lived on a dairy farm and drank the milk out of their fridge with the cream floating luxuriously on top. She also told me that there is a tribe in Africa who survive entirely on raw milk since, in it’s natural state, is a complete nutritious food!

The milk I purchased is more cosmetic use only, but at $8 a bottle i’ll be damned if i’m pouring it into the bath.

Anybody have an opinion? Anyone as obsessed with pure foods as I seem to be increasingly every day?

I’ll leave you with this quote, ‘food’ for thought:

“If people let government decide what foods they eat and what medicines they take, their bodies will soon be in as sorry a state as are the souls of those who live under tyranny.”


 

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

