At the end, make sure you stop

I glimpsed the fence outside one of our windows tonight. It was pink!

Some garbage needed to be taken out, so I dashed outside to catch the last beautiful fading embrace of the setting sun on the clouds crowning our house.

There I was, standing in the middle of the footpath when something unexpected happened. Everything suddenly became very pronounced and still. I could hear children laughing and playing in the darkening playground near our house. The insects in the garden, and faint murmuring of a neighbours television. We were not moving, the Earth stood stock still as the clouds crept slowly past. Immune to their own incredible force.

This must be what they talk about when they use the word- stillness. You never know what something truly means until it happens properly to you then WHAM! You know you’re there. No doubt about it!

I have tried meditation in the past and been fairly thought-free and peaceful, and I thought i’d for sure achieved stillness then. Even if only for a moment. I know now that-no, this time it was as though i’d logged into the energy of everything around me, perhaps some ancient instinctual awareness long forgotten and drowned out with the white noise and many little pieces that make up our chattery day-to-day.

Just warning you now, if you see me looking a little odd-eyed on the train or pushing a shopping trolley at Coles, you’re not in any danger. I may have simply harnessed the power to stop!

At least, if only in my mind.

About Casey

Hi, I'm Casey, Mumma of two amazing little souls whom I homeschool and partner to a very clever man. We sold everything two years ago and moved interstate to start all over again without anyone to bust us out of trouble. We began homeschooling, made new friends, became unexpectedly challenged by illnesses, and hope to write about all of it. I'm into natural learning, sustainability, health, love, homesteading, pure unadulterated CREATION and life lessons. The aim is- fewer lists, less need to control, less cleaning, less stress, more of the Love, and cuddle time and practising watercolour techniques because it's fun, not because I'm going to become the planet's most incredible watercolour painter and sell all of my WORKS! Perhaps I will sell all of my works. Perhaps they will be ungainly. One of the challenges is not to care. More blogging. Maybe. No pressure. See you around! View all posts by Casey

3 responses to “At the end, make sure you stop

Leave a Reply

