Adventure

“An adventure isn’t an adventure unless something goes wrong…” – Me

What a day! Let’s be honest now, some things have been going a little wrong lately.

I promise I’m not one to complain all the time! Today did strike me as a little ridiculous though…

We awoke to the creaking bedroom door and pitter patter of little 3 year old feet, and a curly mop moving along the top of the bed frame over my side to wake us up for the day. Gawd knows what time it was, looked a little dark outside still so I guessed- too bloody early? She wriggled into bed with us and started poking Husband’s face until he also started to stir.

We had the day all worked out: Breakfast/brunch at Michele’s Patisserie (they make the BEST babyccino’s in the whole land!) Then off to Nan and Pa’s to drop little one off to play and take my bumpy old but trusty car away to replace her with a brand-new-second-hand automobile. This was exciting for me. I hoped all would go well and quickly, drive the automobile home, show it off to family members, pick up the kiddo and go out for dinner for Carl’s 30th birthday.

Breakfast was excellent as always, and my coffee was second to none. Purchased a 12 year old bottle of bourbon whiskey for Carl’s birthday, then continued on our way to do the child drop off and drive to Heidelberg West to pick up the car I spotted on Carsales.com.au.

It rained heavily in patches, mostly when we were trying to work out directions, listen to Max (the GPS) who Brendan kept yelling at when it told him he was speeding… And deciphering the Melways in case Max didn’t have Eastlink programmed in.

Honestly, who uses ‘maps’ anymore.

We arrived safe and sound and freezer-ing in Heidelberg West where we spotted my new car, and hoped to get a trade-in on old Pixie. Name derived from the rego-plate.

It all went so smoothly, we got the car for the price we wanted, traded Pixie the 1994 Toyota Camry in for an ok price and buzzed off in my new silver wagon. A Daewoo Nubira wagon, 2000 model. Bren, with his early years of Mechanic-hood under his belt gave the new car a good look over, and under, and in and deemed it fit to buy.

Off we sped in our silver wagon, me bulbous and proud in the passenger seat telling my Daddy that I wanted to show it to him today, and was he available? I think I was still grinning when the car suddenly went BANG! Smoke poured from the sides of the hood, and Bren with a curse i’m glad little Sisi wasn’t present to absorb bursting from him as he made an emergency stop at the very peak of the Blackburn outbound on-ramp.

The car was dead…. I was already desperate to go to the toilet…

It would be an hour, they said, to get a tow truck out to get it as well as a ‘loaner’ car. They were very sorry. Very very sorry since I am so obviously and ridiculously with child at the moment. I said it would be better for his Dad to pick us up in our other car, which he did, and the tow truck guy picked the car up and hoisted it back to the dealership.

I called my Daddy and informed him that we would NOT be dropping in to show him my new shiny car. He laughed his arse off when I told him it’s the family curse. You see, my father is very ‘tinny’ when it comes to the powers of ‘un-luck’.

Always in the most ironic way.

We trudged up the exit ramp to meet Bren’s Dad. It was cold, there was a massive puddle where I needed to safely walk. Boy was my bladder on the verge of Defcon 1…. We stood and shivered and laughed our heads off and said “You can’t ignore the IRONY!” Till it wasn’t funny anymore. Of course, it still is.

Monday is the day we find out what’s going on, so there’s no point feeling sorry for ourselves. Some of the positives to this situation are-

  1. We blew up before the baby was born, and while we could still crack it with the car dealership.
  2. We may get a brand new engine!
  3. It was almost TOO easy, anyway.

Then we went out for Chinese dinner with Carl and Nicole for Carl’s bday and they enjoyed the above-mentioned 12 year old bourbon. I got to sniff it. Smells like teen spirit.

They’re the best couple, and Sisi behaved admirably till we left at 10pm. She passed out in the car.

HAPPY 30th BIRTHDAY CARL!

I’m going to bed now. I can hear Bren snoring from the kitchen. Unfortunately when I try to block his nose he wakes with a start and glares at me like he sprung me trying to murder him.

It may come to that, my snoring friend. It just may….

GOOD NIGHT! 😀 (sorry, morning…)

Sigh. It really was too easy, anyway.

One thought on “Adventure

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

